Our library team is made up of full-time staff members, seasonal interns, our Board of Directors, and our dedicated volunteers.

Not sure who to contact? You can reach the Circulation Desk at 207-723-7020 or We’ll do our best to answer your question or direct you to someone who can.


Andrew Crandall
Operations Manager 207-723-7020

Heather Hurley
Collection Specialist 207-723-7020

Baileigh Studer
Gear Library General Manager 207-200-4767

John Marden
Program & Resource Coordinator 207-447-4076

Diana Furukawa
Library Director 207-447-4075
Nicole Brennan
Assistant Director 207-447-4077


At MML, volunteers are the heart of our work. Our amazing volunteers do everything from shelving books, to planning programs, to maintaining our building.

Interested in joining our volunteer team? Please stop in and grab a volunteer application at our Circulation Desk. Contact Nicole Brennan with any questions at or call us at (207) 723-7020.


We host both youth and adult internships made possible through funding from the Eastern Maine Development Corporation (EMDC). Our interns assist with a variety of programs and services, including the Katahdin Gear Library, youth programs, and more. 

Gear Library Intern

If you are interested in being an intern at the library, email Andrew Crandall at


The Board of Directors is composed of 13 community members entrusted with governing the library.  The board serves as a critical link between the library and the community. To get in touch with the board, email Board President, Ed Girsa at

The MML Board at a retreat in 2023. Back row, left to right: Nolan Tanous, Ed Girsa, Wally Paul, Meghan Cooper; Front row, left to right: Mike Smith, Kyle Leathers, Jessica Masse, Wende Sairio, Terri MacDonald (former board member). Not pictured: Bob Adams, Ben Barr, Laura Manzo, Steve Sanders, Veronica Torres.

Board of Directors, 2023:

  • Ed Girsa | President
  • Jessica Masse | Vice President
  • Bob Adams | Treasurer
  • Wende Sairio | Secretary
  • Benjamin Barr
  • Meghan Cooper
  • Kyle Leathers
  • Laura Manzo
  • Veronica Torres
  • Wally Paul
  • Steve Sanders
  • Mike Smith
  • Nolan Tanous